Search this site
Parent Login
Social Media
HMS Music Director

Ben Stevens

Leadership Team for Herts Music Service

Lisa Quinlan-Rahman
Ben Stevens
Vicki Roberts
Michael Mabbitt
Katherine Wolfenden
Deena Day
Angela Gilby
Rebecca Kelly
Nick Denham


Friends of Hertfordshire
County Youth Music Groups

The Friends Association supports all Hertfordshire’s County Youth Music Groups to enhance young peoples’ musical experiences and opportunities through :

  • Financial contributions towards the purchase of instruments
  • Tour subsidies
  • Financial assistance for the less advantaged
  • Promotion of and support for concerts
  • Sponsorship of brochures
  • Commissions

Every member of a County group and their families are automatically a Friend and are welcome to attend the Friends' termly committee meetings.

For more information about the Friends, please visit our website: 


Friends Patron Scheme

For more significant benefits and to provide extra help to Hertfordshire’s young musicians please consider becoming a Patron. Our Patrons receive, for all concerts :

  • Two free tickets
  • Reserved VIP seats
  • An invitation to VIP receptions

To become a Patron, we request that you make a minimum annual contribution of £150. To become a Patron, please contact: Nick Baker

How Friends is Run

We are run by a friendly and enthusiastic committee, assisted by event stewards. We always welcome additional help, both as a committee member or for occasional concert duty, such as providing refreshments or running raffles. As an event helper you will get a free ticket for the concert you are supporting. We would welcome your help either as a new committee member or at a future event. Please do make contact if you feel able to give a little of your time to support Hertfordshire’s young musicians through Friends.

Click here to see details of future events:- ‘What’s On’ 

Next Meeting

The next Committee Meeting will take place on 28th November, at 7.45pm, in Hatfield (address available by application to the Secretary, Nicola Ryall).  All members are warmly invited to attend. Please come along to find out more about what the Friends does to support the wonderful work of the Youth Music Service or if you would like to join the team (as a committee member or as a volunteer). 

If you would like to attend, or join the committee, or like further information then please contact the Secretary, Nicola Ryall at

Friends of CYMG Committee: 

Co-Chairs Nick Baker and Susannah Marsden
Treasurer David Sheridan
Secretary Nicola Ryall 

Other committee members are:

Surinder Bhatia
John Bruce Jones
Bill O’Neill
Helen Holehouse
Susannah Marsden